It’s been a week and a half now since I started Ritalin and my life has been turned upside down.

I never knew 2 small white tablets could have such a huge influence on my day to day routine and how I feel.

Tomorrow I have my 2 week check-up with my doctor. This is to monitor my blood pressure, my weight (oh god, I ate so much junkfood last week) and see how the medication is doing. I’ve been thinking about what I need to ask her and how to continue on.

I am experiencing some side-effects: a slight headache and sometimes I feel like my heart is racing, which is not an annoying feeling, or really bothering me, but just noticeable. I also have really dry lips, to the point that it’s driving me crazy. Chapsticks can only do so much. I also have problems dealing with the time between taking medication and after I am done for the day taking the medication. Specifically between 11.30/1.30 and after 5 pm.

What I would like, and I hope my GP approves is to up the dosage to 15mg Ritalin per time and to change my schedule to 7 am, 12 pm and 4 or 5 pm.

I also had a good talk with my mum. She’s been helping and supporting me with dealing with my depression and getting my diagnosis. She is so happy for me that the meds are working. She already notices a change in my behaviour and my mood. She finds me more stable, no more crying and no extreme mood swings. She’s also happy for me that I can focus more on my work both at home and at work and I just sound happier. She is impressed I panic less and she is just sad I didn’t get the diagnosis earlier. It would have saved me so much trouble.

I am happier and more emotional stable. I am now also more hopeful towards the future and I want to make plans to get back on track.

Wish me luck for tomorrow and thank you for reading,

Love, Jamie

